Car Accident Reports in Texas
Car accidents are unexpected events that may lead to catastrophic consequences. Unfortunately, accidents occur in Texas every day. Knowing what to do following a car accident can help you be prepared for the unexpected.
What Is a Car Accident Report?
In Texas, officers that respond to a car accident where there is an injury, death, or property damage exceeding $1,000 must submit a written report to TxDOT. This report contains important information about the accident, including driver information, vehicle details, and accident scene information.
When Should You Report a Car Accident?
It is always a good idea to notify the police following a car accident. However, there are some instances where Texas law requires that you report the accident to the police.
If the accident results in injury, death, or significant vehicle damage, then you must notify law enforcement.
How Long Do I Have To Report a Car Accident?
You should also notify your car insurance company of the accident as soon as possible. The amount of time you have to report a car accident to your insurance company will depend on the specifics of your policy. However, ideally, you would speak with an attorney before corresponding with any insurance companies.
In Texas, you have two years to bring your personal injury claim. If you fail to bring your lawsuit before the statute of limitations expires, you will be barred from recovering compensation.
Where Do I File a Car Accident Report?
In Texas, you must report your car accident to the local police department or the sheriff’s office. A law enforcement officer is then required to submit a written report of the crash to TxDOT.
How Do I Report a Car Accident?
You should report an accident using the quickest means of communication possible. This often means that you will call the police from the accident scene. No matter how minor you believe the accident is, it is best to call the police, as property damage and injuries can be worse than they appear.
Is It Illegal To Not Report an Accident?
In some instances, yes, it can be illegal not to report an accident. If the accident results in injury, death, or vehicle damage of $1,000 or more, you are required to report the accident to the police.
Calling the police from the accident scene helps to ensure that you are meeting your legal obligations.
What Happens if You Do Not Report a Car Accident?
If you fail to report a car accident that Texas law requires you to report, you could face serious consequences. You could have your license suspended. You may also have difficulty filing an insurance claim or subsequent personal injury lawsuit without an accident report.
Why Should You Report a Car Accident?
Even if you are not required by law to report the accident, you should still do so. An accident report provides vital evidence for personal injury claims. An insurance company may be less likely to dispute your claim if there is a police report.
What Should You Do After Reporting a Car Accident?
After seeking medical attention, exchanging insurance information, and reporting the accident, you should consult with an experienced personal injury attorney.
Hiring an attorney can help you dispute any issues with the police report and begin the process of filing your personal injury claim.
Contact the Car Accident Law Firm of Parker Law Firm Injury Lawyers in Bedford for Help Today
For more information, please contact an experienced car accident lawyer at Parker Law Firm Injury Lawyers to schedule a free initial consultation today. We have convenient locations in Fort Worth and Bedford, Texas.